MGCSA Awards

Distinguished Service Award

The MGCSA’s Distinguished Service Award is presented to an individual who has made an outstanding or significant contribution to the advancement of the Golf Course Superintendent profession, preferable in Minnesota and surrounding areas. This contribution will have been made over a significant period of time and may be ongoing. The nominee must not be a prior recipient of the DSA. The selection of the DSA recipient will be made by the MGCSA Board of Directors and will be presented at the Annual Meeting.

2023 Fred Taylor, CGCS, Mankato Golf Club
2022 Mike Brower, Minnesota Valley Country Club
2021 John Steiner, CGCS, White Bear Yacht Club
2019 Roger Stewart CGCS, Retired TPC Twin Cities
2018 Rick Fredericksen, CGCS, Woodhill Country Club
2014 Kevin Clunis, CGCS, Luck Golf Club
2012 Paul Diegnau, CGCS, Keller Golf Club
2011 Tom Proshek, Brackett’s Crossing Golf Club
2010 Jack MacKenzie, CGCS, North Oaks Golf Club
2009 Keith Scott, CGCS, Oak Ridge Country Club
2008 Larry Vetter, Twin City Seed Company
2007 Roger Kisch, Southview Country Club
2006 Robert Panuska, Waseca Lakeside Club
2005 Stephen Garske, Par Aide Products Company
2004 E. Paul Eckholm, CGCS, Heritage Links Golf Club
2003 Garold Murphy, CGCS, Somerset Country Club
2002 James Nicol, CGCS, Hazeltine National Golf Club
2001 Jerry Commers, Cushman Motor Company, Inc. and Larry Mueller, Minnesota Valley Country Club
2000 Joseph Check, Check Signature
1999 Dr. Don White, University of Minnesota and Leroy Young, Leroy Young & Associates
1998 Glenn Rasmussen, MTI Distributing, Inc. and Dr. Ward Stienstra, University of Minnesota
1997 Bill Johnson, Honkers Away
1996 Boots Fuller, Mankato Golf Club and Randy Nelson, Hidden Greens Golf Club
1995 Ed Zylka, MTI Distributing, Inc.
1994 Jim Latham, USGA Green Section
1993 Kurt Erdman, Rochester Country Club and Howard Kaerwer, Northrup King
1992 Warren Rebholz, Minnesota Golf Association
1991 Russ Adams, Les Bolstad University of Minnesota Golf Course, Gordy Miller, North Star Turf, Inc. and Jack Kolb, Turf Supply Company
1990 Carl Anderson, Woodhill Country Club John Fuller, Midland Hills Country Club and George Ostler, Hillcrest Country Club
1989 Milt Wiley, Turf Supply Company and Dr. James Watson, The Toro Company

MGCSA President’s Lifetime Achievement Award

Selected by the Standing President and given to an individual who through their long term dedication has set an example of outstanding leadership for the membership of the MGCSA.

2010 Dr. Brian Horgan, University of Minnesota
2005 Bradley Peterson, University of Minnesota
2002 Dr. Donald White, University of Minnesota
2002 Dr. James Watson, University of Minnesota

Watson Award

Given in honor of Dr. James Watson of the Toro Company and a strong supporter of the MGCSA to an individual who contributes an exceptional article published in the Hole Notes Magazine, the official publication of the MGCSA.

2023 Wade Huesman, River Oaks Golf Course
2022 Sally Jones, Benson Golf Club
2021 Brian Brown, Chisago Lakes Golf Course
2020 Chris Aumock, Theodore Wirth Golf Club
2019 Joe Berggren, The Wilds Golf Club
2018 Chris Tritabaugh, Hazeltine National Golf Club
2017 Kari Haug, Kari Haug Planning and Design
2016 Jesse Trcka, Wayzata Country Club                                                                                                         
2015 Joe Churchill, Reinders
2014 Jacob Kocak, Somerby Golf Club
2013 Jamie Bezanson, Oneka Ridge Golf Club
2012 Ken Rost, Frost Services
2011 Brandon Schindele, Edina Country Club
2010 Aaron Johnsen, Winfield Solutions
2009 Gary Deters, St. Cloud Country Club
2008 Bill Gullicks, Bellwood Oaks Golf Course
2007 Randy Witt, Hong Kong Country Club
2006 Rob Adams, The Ponds at Battle Creek
2005 Michael Sonnek, Spring Hill Golf Club
2004 Garrett Gill, Gill Design, Inc.
2003 Paul Diegnau, CGCS, Keller Golf Course
2002 Jack MacKenzie, CGCS, North Oaks Golf Club
2001 Norma O’Leary, CGCS, Silver Bay Country Club
2000 Jack MacKenzie, CGCS, North Oaks Golf Club
1999 Michael Brower, Hillcrest Country Club
1998 Fred Taylor, CGCS, Mankato Golf Club
1997 Greg Hubbard, CGCS, Manitou Ridge Golf Course
1996 Leif Erickson, The Scotts Company
1995 Jack Kolb, Retired
1994 Cary Femrite, North Star Turf
1993 Dale Wysocki, Faribault Golf & Country Club
1992 Larry Vetter, Turf Management Products, Inc.
1991 James Gardner, CGCS, The Wilds Golf Club
1990 Fred Taylor, CGCS, Mankato Golf Club

MGCSA Environmental Award

Presented to a Golf Club in recognition of outstanding and continued environmental stewardship practices as implemented by the superintendent.

2015 Oneka Ridge Golf Course, Superintendent Jamie Bezanson
2010 The Wilderness at Fortune Bay, Superintendent Vincent Dodge
2009 Keller Golf Course, Superintendent Paul Diegnau, CGCS
2008 Minnesota Valley Country Club, Superintendent Mike Brower

Copyright © Minnesota Golf Course Superintendents Association, All rights reserved.

Designed by Parsons Marketing Concepts

PO Box 2028
Maple Grove, MN 55311
Office: 651- 324 - 8873

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software